Nikilyn’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The letter- chapter 3 November 3, 2008

Filed under: NaNoWriMo08 — nikilyn @ 3:12 pm
Tags: , ,

Chapter 3

“I’m sorry.”  He blinked hard and rolled away onto his back and we both stared at the ceiling. 

Damn!  I just made-out with my client on the floor of the house I was trying to sell him.  I’m pretty sure there’s a rule against that.

It was clear that the roof was leaky due to the yellow stains on the ceiling.  Great.  That means there might be mold in the attic to go with the owl on the second floor.  I secreted a glance at Tom.  He was staring at the stain, too.  I began to sit up.

Then he said something I would have never bet he’d say.

“I’ll take it.”

“What?”  My head hurts.

“I said I’ll take it.  I have a large amount of money I been saving for two years.  I can pay cash.”

“Cash?”  Stunned, I blew out a lung full of air and I lay back down.  “Oh.  Lovely.”

Cash.  This is great.  I sold a house.  I sold my favorite house.  This house had so much potential; it could be so beautiful!  It just needs someone to love it and take care of it.  I never had the means to buy it myself, which is why I lived in town.  Maybe someday when things aren’t so…  No. I can’t think that way.

I felt really awkward so I quickly stood up to leave, but I swayed.  I was embarrassed and still very light headed.  He noticed and stood up, too, placing a hand on my elbow.

“Well, we should probably get back to the realty office to work out a deal…”

I swayed again and he held tighter.  I felt a little sick.  I must have looked as bad as I felt because he raised that left eyebrow again.  I’m never drinking tequila again. Didn’t I already say that?

“Are you sure you’re okay?  You look a little… green.”

“I’m… sorry.  I’m not really thinking clearly.  I’m a little hung over today.”  Oh, yeah, that’s professional.  I looked around for some kind of diversion.  The wind was blowing snow across the road already.  “We should get going before the weather gets too bad.”

He followed my gaze and looked back at me.  “Right.  Want me to drive?”

I really didn’t feel so good so I said, “Sure.”

We started walking out into the frigid wind and snow to the Passport and I felt a little queasy.  He put his hands on my shoulders and looked into my eyes.  Wow, his eyes were something. 

“Damn.  You should go home and we’ll do this later.  Now that I look at you, you might have a concussion.”

I kept my mouth shut, not trusting what would come out, and I just nodded.  Big mistake.  I felt my stomach lurch and I wrapped my arms around my middle.  What is wrong with me?

I just want to get to my bed so I concentrated on the walk to the car.  I climbed into the passenger side and Tom closed the door.  I reached over and started the car.  My eyes were closed before he started driving.

 

 *         *          *

 

“Kat, honey.  Wake up.”  Tiffi’s voice rang shrill to my ears.  “Kat.  How are you feeling?”

Sleepily I open my eyes.  

“What? Where am I?”  I looked around and saw that I was sitting on a gurney in a small area surrounded by a curtain.  Tiffi was standing next to me.

“You’re at the urgent care clinic.  Tom Booker brought you here and called me at the office.  He said you fell off the second story of the Logan house.  Are you all right?  What happened?”  She was talking very quickly.  Obviously he hadn’t gone into details.

“Owl flew out of the second floor bedroom and scared me.  The railing broke.  I think I’m fine.  I’m just really tired and still pretty hung-over.  Don’t call anyone else. I think I just need to go to home.”

“Well, then it’s a good thing you have me as your first emergency contact in your cell.  Your mom would be going nuts if she knew.  He said it looked like you were going to be sick and then you let him drive.  Kat, you don’t let anyone drive your car- not even Parker, and you dated him for six years.  He thinks you have a concussion.”

 “Crap.”  I just wanted to go home.

“It’s okay.  Do you want me to stay?”

“No, no.  You should go home before it gets too bad out.  Jack’s worried about you driving, anyway.”  I smiled.

She rolled her eyes and said, “Oh, poo.  I live three blocks away.  If the roads were too bad I would just walk.” 

“I’m fine.  Just go home and I’ll call you later.” 

“No, I stay.  Screw Jack.  If he’s so concerned he can tell me himself.”    

“Katrina Foster?”  A female voice came from the other side of the curtain and a tall fifty-something woman peeked in carrying a chart

“That’s me,” I sighed.

I received a thorough examination and an x-ray at the and with a sheet of instructions for someone to watch over me for the next twenty-four hours.  Tiffi took the sheet and put it in her purse and started to follow me out the door of the examination room.  Tom was sitting in the waiting area, a row of three chairs near the door, with an ice pack on his eye.  Dazed, I stopped at the counter to give the receptionist my co-pay when Tom appeared beside me with his hand on my elbow again                   .

“Let me help you to the car.”

I glance to Tiffi and she briefly widened her eyes to imply I should accept.

I nodded to Tom, “Thanks.”

I let him help me in the front seat, even though I was perfectly able to do it myself, and he climbed into the back and Tiffi into the driver’s seat.

“Be careful, Tif.”  I say automatically.  Really, this car is my baby.  My first ever new car.  Everything before this was a junker so I’m really particular about who drives it: Me.

“I know, honey, just relax.”

I close my eyes and doze, briefly waking when she dropped Tom off at the firehouse.  I barely remember getting home and up to my bed.

 

One Response to “The letter- chapter 3”

  1. wcharlson Says:

    hi nikilin you dont know me but I have been reading some of your nanowrimo chapters. Anyways, I have been trying to sign up ( for 3 days) at Nanowrimo and get set up there but the site seems to be having problems. It times out and I cant really do anything there. I cant even go to the contact page to tell report a problem with the website. if you are not having problems with the website could you tell them whats going on for me and have them email me? my email is williamcharlson@hotmail.com
    thanks very much


Leave a Reply

